🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Best way to showcase C++ programming experience

Started by
5 comments, last by frob 8 years ago
Hello everyone!
I'm a recent graduate in computer science and was hoping you could give me your opinion on what's the best way to fulfill a job requirement of C++ programming experience.
From what I've seen most of the game development jobs have these two requirements among others:
1- A portfolio to showcase / Some experience in game development
2 - C/C++ programming experience
Sounds reasonable, but unfortunately in my case I didn't fulfill any of these two. I'd made some game prototypes but never published anything, so my first step was to develop and publish my own game, which I accomplished some days ago(very proud of that by the way) . :D
The next obvious step was to learn C++, step that I've already started. I'm almost halfway through an entire C++ book, and it's going pretty well.
But the problem is that since I didn't make any projects in college involving C++, I have nothing to showcase my knowledge with. In interviews they normally ask you about the projects you made, the problems you dealt with, the solutions,etc.
I thought about making my second game with C++, but of course that is going to involve learning a new game engine (since the one I used for the first game was Unity), and since it's going to be my first project with C++, it´ll probably be a slow process.
So, to speed things up I thought about getting a certification, which could allow me to be a viable candidate faster than finishing the development of a new game with a new engine with a new language. That way I could get certified, and start applying for jobs while developing the 2nd game, instead of waiting till I have a finished project.