🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

java hangman

Started by
6 comments, last by Toasted 22 years, 7 months ago
I am trying to make hangman in Java. I have a file set up from which I read from, I then store the individual words in a vector. I have tried to set up a loop that starts at 0 and goes to the word length, while in this loop I will check the letters and display them in the correct place. I can compile and run it, although it seems quite slow, and it also gives me an "Array out of bounds, 0 >= 0" remark. Unfortunately im quite new at this and things also seem to work......in theory. www.geocities.com/toasted_terran/hangman.java www.geocities.com/toasted_terran/hangman_graphics.java (Tell me if you want the source on the forum, if you can''t get to it) cheers
Advertisement
dude, i hope you aren''t trying to get someone to do your homework for you
OF course not, ive been trying to get this to work for about 3 months now.
hmmm sounds fishy to me ( homework) .... I will give you this for advice... read up on Exceptions and create a ''Try'' and ''Catch'' Block ...

try       {         //What ever it is your doing       }    catch {ArrayIndexOutOfBounds yada yada e)       {         //Whatever you decide to do         System.out.println(e);       }    Finally       {          //Clean up       }  

Morpheus

----------

I disagree with a_insomniacs advice in this case. Tho you generally should try to handle exceptions, ArrayIndexOutOfBounds usually shouldn''t be caught this way.

This exception is telling you that there is a fundemental problem with the code and that it should be fixed, not just handled. Handling it will stop the error being shown but it is far better fixing the error.