🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What's My Outlook for a Video Game Job Given My Situation?

Started by
5 comments, last by Syrena 8 years, 2 months ago

I found this gamedev post and reading through it made me a little uneasy about my current situation.

A little background: I graduated college 3 years now, and I to be quite honest, that school wasted my time/money. While they taught the basics, that's all they taught. Topics such as multi threading/generics/design patterns were not given the time they deserve. For example, I only learned the concept of immutable classes though Google searching, and just recently I only learned the visitor pattern through asking on SO, and applying it to my text adventure game. I've tried several times to make an honest attempt at learning multi threading, but its just too hard for me. I'm going to be overshadowed by any computer science student with a B.A, as I only have a college diploma, and it simply won't cut it. If an employer were to ask "Why should I hire you, when I could hire a university student with a degree?" I've got no good answer for that, and I don't believe there is one.

Long story short: I can't attend university, the problem is I don't have the required math classes, and to acquire them would mean going to adult HS classes at night. You see the problem is, because the school left out so much, when they transferred students to university, they struggled because they entered university in the 3rd year. My plan was to start at the first year, regardless of what I did in college, because I wanted to make sure I got a full understanding of what I've missed.