🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Starting from Scratch

Started by
4 comments, last by Gian-Reto 8 years, 4 months ago

I have been trying to get my game idea developed for more than 2 years now. After hiring 2 different companies and spending $$$ thousands I don't have nothing to show for all the money I have spent.

And to make things more difficult, my location is somewhat "remote". I live in the middle of the pacific ocean here in Hawaii and did I forget to mention that I have no "technical" background. I have no contacts who are in the gaming industry to mentor me thru the development process.

My family has grown +1 making it a total of 6 children and I am the sole provider of my family. The cost of living here is ridiculous, but I was born and raised here...and thats my excuse for not moving to the mainland. We spent our lifesavings on trying to get the game developed and yet I am not discouraged. I remain focused on my goal of creating this game, which has led me to my latest "plan of action" and my "better half" supports me completely and believes in my project just as much as I do.

So, here I am...more than 2 years later and I want to develop this game more than ever. I knew that this path would be long and hard. I didn't expect the setbacks and losing as much money as we did with the 2 companies. And thats the reason I have decided to put together my own development team.

[recruiting is not permitted in these discussion forums]

You can trade hours for dollars

or you can trade ideas for millions

the choice is yours

I have a question to ask...how difficult is it for a graphic designer to take pictures that I have of my game characters and create 3D models from them? [classified language deleted] Thank you in advance for your help.

Advertisement