🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Marketing: Building a community

Started by
2 comments, last by DerekL 8 years, 6 months ago

Hi. I've been watching a few videos about success on crowdfunding platforms. While I'm not currently concerned about crowdfunding, they all talk about building a following, a community, a fan base. They stress the importance of social media for this purpose.

I'm a lone developer, and frankly I never cared about social media for my personal life. But it seems indies need not only build good games/software, they also need good marketing. The resources for this are a bit lacking I feel, at least compared to the resources for learning technical skills required for building games for example.

I've found this link on GD.net which is good, but I still would like your opinions:

Do you use social media for promoting your game/software?

Do you use studio/company accounts or personal accounts?

Do you have a dedicated website and forums?

How would you go about building a following/community?

Would you agree that posting regular updates on facebook, twitter, instagram and what have you will take considerable effort and time from actual development?

Finally, if you have any tips about marketing for independent software/game developers, kindly share. Thanks.

Advertisement

I'm a lone developer, and frankly I never cared about social media for my personal life. But it seems indies need not only build good games/software, they also need good marketing.

This is true for any product, you cant just create something and hope it will sell. You need people to sell the product to who know that it exists. This is why the marketing budget for AAA titles is so large, usually much larger than development costs.

Do you use social media for promoting your game/software?