🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Brand New in the field - Game Production

Started by
9 comments, last by L. Spiro 8 years, 9 months ago

Hi Everyone,

I am in the mere beginning stages of attempting to enter into the video game industry. I have an MBA and have had significant experience in other private sectors which I believe have given me the skills to become a great producer, that is, with training and hard work. But unfortunately, I have zero experience in game production and development. I have started learning some coding (Java, C++, Python) on my own. I am also considering getting certified in Scrum, just so I can get some knowledge in a common Project Management system. My questions are the following:

Should my next steps be learning Design? How would I go about doing that? (Should I purchase software and play around with it)

Should I get certified in Scrum? I know most companies are using some type of Agile methodology. Are there better realistic choices?

Once I have some education of game development, should I start building my own game? Will this give me the experience needed to appease recruiters for Producer positions?

Again, I am an absolute "newb" to this field, but I am determined to become a producer and will do what it takes to get there. I really appreciate any advice you all can give. Thanks!

Cassandra

Advertisement

Do you really mean a video game producer ? Or do you mean a game developer ? Or a manager role in a game developer studio ?