🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Portfolio feedback

Started by
5 comments, last by DerekL 8 years, 10 months ago

Recently I've been working on my portfolio, in order to contact game studios later this month.

I'm currently a student enrolled in a game development degree and my goal is to get an internship in a smaller game studio with at most 10 employees.

While I received some feedback from friends, I would like to know what people within the industry think of my portfolio.

http://www.leovst.com

Any feedback is appreciated.

Advertisement

Since I'm only a web developer at the moment, my feedback will be limited to that. Hopefully you will still find it helpful.

Portfolio

- Cut the "Website still a work in progress". It implies you have unfinished work on your site. If you do, those should be partitioned off into blogs (e.g. "I learned X while working on Y")

- Cut the red box at the top of your main page. As a common practice, that is used for errors/emergency announcements/etc. What you're saying in that box should come across as readily apparent from the rest of your website.

- I would reorganize the left menu some. Put games and 3d as submenus under projects. I'd also include a link to a resume page where you have your resume rendered in HTML with the pdf link featured prominently on the page. Shift the left menu up some.

- Homepage shows too many categories. I'd stick to just showing a games category. Also, I'm not sure how much utility you'd get from having a separate rendering section when your stated goal is a gameplay programmer. I would put your most recent effort or the project your most proud of prominently displayed on the homepage.