🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Learning to be a Designer

Started by
3 comments, last by frob 8 years, 11 months ago

What's up folks, I'm new here. I wanted to share my idea and story with you all and hopefully not drive myself insane thinking about this.

So I'm a college grad with a degree in Digital Media which is exactly what is sounds like...everything. I have a little experience in just about every digital discipline. I also love to make games, but love doesn't quite cut it -- it's very hard to imagine my future self doing something other than making games and learning about them in some way. Also, about 5 months ago I decided to quit my temp job (after months of saving; gotta be smart about your crazy decisions) to pursue game design. This has been a source of both immense stress AND joy. I volunteered for the Games for Change festival and I even made some stuff.

My degree and experience led me to a number of places, but none have put me in a game studio. In fact I'm starting a new job soon that has nothing to do with games or game design. So I went off to the internet to answer the burning question "How do I become a professional game designer?" Extra Credit's Youtube vid on the topic caught my eye and after I watched it I made a list of skills I should cultivate:

• Lit, Philosophy, Myth
  • World Religions
  • Programming
  • Art principles
  • Basic audio design
  • Practical knowledge of graphic design
  • etc.