🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Not Getting A Degree...

Started by
10 comments, last by ferrous 9 years ago

I've asked this on another forum, but thought I'd also ask here to get more varied answers.

I am currently studying Computer Programming and Analysis at my local college because I want to get a job in game design and the program includes classes in programming (C+, C# and Java), level design, and app creation. I was looking at the schools Continuing Education list and notice that they include those same classes.

So my question is, do I really need to continue studying under this program and get a degree when I could just take the individual classes and learn programming and level design etc?

Would it really matter to a company whether I had a degree which included those classes or if I had certificates saying the same thing? Wouldn't it make more sense to directly learn the things I would need to get a job in the industry rather then take all the required extra classes you have to take in order to get a degree?

Advertisement
Would it really matter to a company whether I had a degree which included those classes or if I had certificates saying the same thing?

Yes, the degree will likely be considered "worth more," all other things being equal. This industry is filled with excellent developers who don't have a degree, but that doesn't mean that it's easy to get a job without one. Especially in the current job climate.

Wouldn't it make more sense to directly learn the things I would need to get a job in the industry rather then take all the required extra classes you have to take in order to get a degree?