🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Trying to find a job

Started by
4 comments, last by conquestor3 9 years ago
So I want to be an indie game developer. I stubbornly want to learn to, make, and make money from indie games. I am a decent programmer in Python, I just started learning some C# and I was going to college, majoring in Computer Science. I did 1 mediocre year and didn't even get to the actual computer classes because there are so many prerequisites which were strictly required despite my SAT scores exempting me from them. I am basically just starting off but I am stubbornly optimistic about being able to someday soon publish a game and start making some sort of money from it. I now have a year that I haven't been going to college, I sort of don't plan on going back and if I do I might change the major to business because I have been learning programming on my own by reading books. I also study into investing as a on and off hobby (that's the type of business I'm interested in). I know that it will take some time before I can start making commercial games, I just need a job to sustain me for now. I can't seem to think of anything to do, I am starting out in the workforce and I don't have a set category I want to fall under, I really don't care much for the type of job as long as it's decent and pays. Then it hit me, I wonder if there is some sort of job or something I can do which would serve as experience for my agenda. Is there anything out there for a programmer just starting off? I doubt it, im probably wasting my time writing this because the world always expects people to have prior experience for everything.
Advertisement