🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Professional feedback on my game design portfolio

Started by
4 comments, last by twoDee 9 years, 1 month ago

Hey guys this is my first post on here. Please forgive me if this isn't the right place for this kind of post.

So a little about me: Im a game designer from London England. I gradutated from University with a degree in Computer Games and have since gone on to design and develop my own App for the app store. Ive also had a 3 month internship with a mobile games studio, working as a game designer / QA.

The issue I am having is that my portfolio seems to be lacking something because I haven't been successful in any applications for entry level design positions.

I am hoping anyone who's a professional designer or employer could provide me vital feedback so that I can be better equipped to apply all over again.

My portfolio:

http://www.dipeshdhanji.com/1310552

Cheers

Advertisement

Many of the things on there don't quite align. You have big bold images, you keep switching back between roles as 'designed' and 'programmed. You make statements like "Designed the entire game using Corona SDK" which makes it seem like you don't know the right words to use. Your buttons "Available on the app store" are not buttons to the link as they should be, but links to zoom the image. You list a single professional game that was a #1 hit and has super-polished professional ads, but there is no clear line to what you actually did. You've got a hobby project that looks like a hobby flappy bird clone but with non-hobby assets. You've got an unreal project that looks like it has some level design aspects (not game design aspects, the two are different) with a link to a single discussion thread labeled "My First project".