🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Questions concerning crowdfunding/risks

Started by
11 comments, last by Gian-Reto 9 years, 1 month ago

Hi,

I am currently studying technical computer science at the technical university Berlin. I thought about giving up my studies or pause it for one semester and continue working on my game. I am just not sure if this is the right decision. I am not sure about the risk when I rely on people on kickstarter or indiegogo to invest some money in my project. Is it enough to show a working prototype with some spaceship and character models and some terrain and a little bit gameplay (it's a game taking place in space and on planets) to get my game funded? How much should I expect if I am almost alone working on this and does not have any job experience in game development (well, I have some experience in developing games - I learned it by doing)? Are $35k earnings by crowdfunding realistic? And is it realistic to sell the game (in late alpha/early beta stage) to enough players to live from the earnings and to continue development? Is there a way to find out if there is a market for my game? And how is the game market, does success more depend on luck or more on how good a game is? Or both equally?

A recent screenshot of the game:

7.png

Advertisement

Is it enough to show a working prototype with some spaceship and character models and some terrain and a little bit gameplay (it's a game taking place in space and on planets) to get my game funded? How much should I expect if I am almost alone working on this and does not have any job experience in game development (well, I have some experience in developing games - I learned it by doing)? Are $35k earnings by crowdfunding realistic?

Unfortunately I think your chances would be extremely low.