🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Freelancer gone wrong!

Started by
10 comments, last by frob 9 years, 2 months ago

I'd like to see if I can get the communities opinion on a sticky situation that happened earlier this morning. First some backstory. I'm 2 days away from my final days at work as a software engineer, I gave in my two week notice and piled up some money that I can live off of to buy me 1 years worth of time to work and invest in a project I want to work on.

Time is what is most valuable to me right now, and I have hired a few very good freelancer who have been working with me to bring an indie game I'd like to complete to life. I recently reached out to receive some help with getting a web page designed, in the transaction we had a work agreement where no content I share with the person is supposed to be publish without my permission. This is important because I gave the person about 10 weeks worth of art updates I planned to stretch out in weekly intervals just incase I have a slow week of development so I can still have content to post on my twitter or facebook to keep the project always looking active.

Long story short, he decided to take it upon himself and register a facebook page in my projects name where he proceeded to release all the art I gave him (luckily I still have more art, but thats beside the point). He messaged me letting me know he also wants to be in charge of my facebook + twitter + social media & customer service, for many reasons I can't have someone else acting on behalf of my project that isn't me or authorized by me since I'm taking this project very seriously for obvious reasons (i.e quitting job)