🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Professional Graphic Design in Indie Games?

Started by
2 comments, last by Joe414 9 years, 2 months ago

Hello I am a student looking to continue my education in graphic design and was wondering if someone could tell me what goes into the branding processes while making games? Id assume most studios use Their own in house art team. I am Curious to know if a Graphic designer would be of any use in the game industry. Graphic Design in games would be used for logos, banners, websites, custom fonts, app icons and any kind of branding really. Graphic Designers can also be very artistic and work on game assets. Basicly, is the branding made within the art team of a company or is the use of a 3rd party industry needed? would Indie Game development benefit via the efforts of a professional graphic artist on there team?

thanks for reading

Advertisement
I am Curious to know if a Graphic designer would be of any use in the game industry.

Yes. For all the things you go on to mention. Games want those things, too. If you're JUST doing graphic design content, however, you'll probably be more useful in a contractor/commissioned role to provide specific content to indie teams (as opposed to coming on "full time") unless you also:

Graphic Designers can also be very artistic and work on game assets

At which point you're probably wearing multiple hats, which is very common on small indie teams.

Hazard Pay :: FPS/RTS in SharpDX (gathering dust, retained for... historical purposes)
DeviantArt :: Because right-brain needs love too (also pretty neglected these days)

0. Professional Graphic Design in Indie Games?
1. what goes into the branding processes while making games? Id assume most [indie] studios use Their own in house art team.