🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

VAT/Sales Tax, Incorporating, Changing DBA, And More

Started by
1 comment, last by Ninjaboi 9 years, 3 months ago

Edit #2: I've decided to simply hire a lawyer locally whenever my game is at the point where I have to make a decision on selling it, bringing in contractors, or other situations like alpha-funding. So this is basically solved. Thanks for clicking on the thread though!

Note: I'm only putting these questions into a single thread because after reading the rules and a few posts here it felt like the right thing to do. It's a bit long so if you are busy or don't want to read it all then just read the questions in bold. If however I was supposed to break these into several threads, please let me know and I'll correct it. Thanks!

Hi, I'm a hobbyist developer currently based in Texas. Recently I've been heavily considering making my next project commercial and doing so with more projects as I go. I've never charged or for that matter really distributed my games I've made up until now, because they were either using other people's IP or they weren't really supposed to be "fun" as much as they were fun to make and use for learning purposes. However this next project I want to be different. I do want to give it a chance at commercial success and I believe I can get it to that point ( don't we all lol ), but my issue is with the legal/business side of things and not really the technical side of things.