🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Job titles

Started by
8 comments, last by alexander1989 9 years, 6 months ago

Hello,

I am a programmer from an indie game created in the Unreal Engine 3, the full engine, not just UDK. And we are releasing our game very soon, and it is as good as done.

Now my question is about job titles, I am not native English. So already because of that, I do not know the exact rules of job titles in English. And I tried to find out which job title fits me most (For the credits in the game) But I don't really know what fits me and my colleagues best.

Basically we are 2 programmers who did all the work for 2 years almost 24/7, and some programmers who helped us out (or tried to help) in their spare time a couple hours in the week for a couple of weeks.

Now as you probably understand, calling us all equal programmers in the credits, doesn't seem fair to me and the other programmer that put this much work in. But I don't know what would be the right way of doing this.

Example: We could call ourselves Senior programmer, and the others programmers

But I read somewhere, a senior programmer would at least have 10 years of experience in programming. Now I have more then 10 years of experience in all sorts off game development practices, and so does my colleague, including 3D moddeling, level, game design and all sorts of different game engines. But for this project we are mainly the programmers, and we both have just 5-6 years of experience in this.

Is there something between senior programmer and programmer? Or would you suggest another way of approaching this matter?

Thanks for any advice in advance!

Advertisement

Unless you have a contractual obligation (verbal or otherwise) to identity someone, you needn't mention anyone specifically.