🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Working as a game developer

Started by
3 comments, last by WhiskyJoe 9 years, 5 months ago

Hi,

I'm a 33 year old tech guru who has finally made the leap into learning programming and sofware development. My intersts are broad and from building my 3d printer or learning to create mods for Arma 3 I'm always learning and working on something. I'm a husband and father. Right now, I'm in my last year of a bachelors degree from WGU and I'm starting to really think about where I want to work and what I'm wanting to do.

Working in the game industry has always been a hope, and now that I'm moving away from my current discipline of helpdesk/desktop support analyst into the world of software development I am thinking very seriously about persuing a position as a game developer.

As I'm getting close to completion of my degree, I'd like to do more to position myself to secure a position that satisfies my requirements.

If you're a professional game developer, not just as a hobby, I'd be curious to know of your experiences entering the market. It would be great if I could get involved in a project or two that could develop my skills in that direction as well as make some good connections to others in the gaming dev community.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Advertisement

persuing a position as a game developer.

Moving you to the Game Industry Job Advice forum. I recommend you begin by reading the FAQs there. Um, I mean here.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Personally, I think I had a bit of luck landing a job as a software engineer. I followed a game development course in the Netherlands where I specialized in programming. During this time I was able to build up a portfolio and through an internship I also got some more experience.