🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Visual C++ HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Started by
6 comments, last by CBD 24 years, 5 months ago
Hi, my name is Christian Davi. I am 17. I have NO programming knowledge, but I really want to learn VC++. I bought a copy of Visual C++ at a thrift shop in the neighborhood($10.00). Since I had been inspired that day(just got a new game)I though what the hell, and bought the copy in the store window. My problem is it came with only an online reference for help. Like I said I have no programming knowledge and dont know any of the C++ language. Any books for the complete newbie to teach the language? Also I was thinking about buying the standard version of VC++ 6, hoping it comes with a manual teaching the language, does it? P.S.- I am a determined person and have dreams of opening a business after college for game development. The only problem is; I WANT TO LEARN HOW TO DEVELOP THEM!
Advertisement
Why not buy a book that teaches you c/c++, a book for win32 and a book for directx or opengl?
That was one of my questions, "If there were any books for the complete newbie." I looked all over Amazon, but many of the books I saw really didnt give the language and were for people with previous knowledge of C(from what the customer reviews said). If you have recommendations for books for the COMPLETE newbie on C++ language please go ahead an post it.
try Al Stevens "Teach Yourself C++" that might be the whole title or it might be teach yourself C++ in 7 days or soething like that try that one

If I only had a nickle for every problem I''ve had, I wouldn''t have anymore problems, but then I guess I wouldn''t have anymore nickles either...