🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Marketing a game?!

Started by
6 comments, last by tkapsali 9 years, 5 months ago

Hey guys , i`m not really sure i`m posting this in the right place, but here we go.

I made a small game for android , and it`s up on google, but i`m not getting too many downloads smile.png).It`s not really such a great game (my first ever game + i started learning only about one year ago and have no IT education), but still i think better games are faceing same issues.

I`m thinking that it`s getting lost in the huge world of google play. Are there any ways for indies to make their game known, maybe a forum , a website or anything where they can advertise their game or any other way of reaching out to the user?

Any hints are appreciated. Thanks!

Advertisement

Moving to business.

In bigger companies, development cost is only about 1/3 of the total money. For many games it is common to spend more money in advertising than it is to spend on development.

Historically there have been many layers of filtering before products go out to consumers. Those developing products needed to spend much of their time and money breaking through the gatekeepers to get products on shelves. Once you were on store shelves you could count on a certain number of sales.

In the mobile space those layers are nearly gone, making it easy for anyone to put their product on the marketplace. Consequently you are competing with roughly 1000 new products released every day.

Now the difficulty is getting yourself noticed, which usually means pitches to key customers and reviewers, coupled with advertising.