🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How much do I pay someone for coming up with some ideas for my game?

Started by
11 comments, last by J. Faraday 9 years, 6 months ago
Hello friends,
If you want to cut to the chase, just scroll down to "The Problem". But here is a little back story regarding the issue I am currently facing.
I am in the process of developing a small online video game using C++ and SFML. Right now I am finishing up the map editor and will then be coding content and searching for artists, etc. It has taken me about 15 years of my life to hone the decently large skill set I need to create the game of my choosing: Advanced C++ and Programming in General, Game Engine Architecture, AI, Game Design, Physics, Advanced Math, TCP/IP, Oracle/SQL, etc. I am a Computer Scientist, and have also spent many thousands of hours reading books on video game development, technology, etc. You get the picture.
So for a lot of my life, my best friend and I would come up with ideas, and he would sit next to me while I coded the entire thing. I used to need him there specifically to get things done and to talk things through with, and we would always say back then we would split it 50/50 even though I would do almost all of the work. I am talking about things like social networking sites. Most of these have ultimately failed of course, but it was always fun to pump ideas out.