🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Involving music industry in game development/distribution

Started by
5 comments, last by Gian-Reto 9 years, 8 months ago

I wasn't sure where to post this and felt the Lounge might be a good place to start and look for advice. I am not a developer but rather work in the music industry. I've been looking into ways that music can learn from and get more involved in the video game industry. I recently had some artists I work with included in a Groupees bundle which was an interesting experience. It got me thinking about how else music can benefit from (and possible in turn benefit) gaming. For example I am encouraging more musicians to get onto Twitch after Fred Durst from Limp Bizkit got some buzz when he randomly jumped on and streamed him playing Call of Duty.

What brought me to Game Dev was an idea a developer came to me with when I was working with a death metal band several years ago. He wanted to skin a FPS game he was making for the band and make that a distinct game mod. The project never happened but the idea stuck with me. I thought that a game like a FPS or a team game like a MOBA that was somehow tied to a band where they could promote it to their fans would create an immediate, built in audience plus create promotions like tournaments and such (a band playing with their fans or even fans of Band A vs fans of Band B, etc.).

I know nothing about game design so don't know the kinds of logistics this might entail. I don't have a business plan or even a solid idea, just the general sense that music is shrinking and video games are growing so if my industry is to survive I might as well learn more about yours. I deal with several indepdent artists but if there is something here, I can develop it into an idea to pitch to larger companies and labels.