🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How would the graphics be if...

Started by
7 comments, last by jbadams 9 years, 11 months ago

Here's the thing...

I can save up to 75,000 dollars within a few years. I will use that money to create a video game.

How would the graphics be?

Can I realistically expect to create a Diabloish graphics game with that budget?

Thank you. I know I'm a newb.

Advertisement

I think you can reasonably expect to lose 75000 dollars. A budget alone does not make a game. You'll need some experience and know-how in order to spend the (very) small amount of money you have without it being a complete waste.

For reference, 75k USD would pay for one programmer for about half a year, at industry standard programmer salaries.

If you really want to make a game, spend the next few years learning to make games, then make some prototypes on your own or with friends. If you make something that strikes you and is fun, try to move forward with it. Maybe make your own art, or commission art (this will be expensive) or pitch the game to a publisher and see if you can get them to continue paying for development.

But don't just save up 75 thousand dollars and then light it on fire by trying to dive into the game industry with no experience. That's a bad idea.

Can I realistically expect to create a Diabloish graphics game with that budget?

No. You could probably make Super Mario Brothers (the first one) with that budget.

No. You could probably make Super Mario Brothers (the first one) with that budget.

With the risk of sounding like a stupid troll...

Can I make a fairly complex RPG with 75,000 dollars even with such horrendous graphics, ASSUMING that I had talent and some experienced people to help me?