🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

have some questions about being a game developer

Started by
4 comments, last by Lxke 9 years, 11 months ago

I am 16 years old next year going to start high school and study Pure Mathematics and Computing A level. I would like to pursue a career in either game development or in software development, I would prefer game development(programmer) but there is no courses at the university about that. I have checked the website of certain game dev companies and they require a degree in computer science which is offered at uni here and they want some C/C++ experience and game dev experience. Does that mean that If I get the computer science degree and find a job as C/C++ programmer and do an indie game aside of my job I would be able to join a game company? I have some C++ knowledge too. This summer I have a lot of free time and have nothing to do with it so I decided to develop a game not by myself me and another guy who will be the designer. I was thinking about doing a simple but addicting iOS game and put it on the app store for 0.99 (I already own a mac) or if we should do a platformed game with java or C++ and SDL or allegro.

What do you think? any help where I can get started to learn how to put sprites on screen and use a physics engine for gravity etc and collision detection.

Thanks

Advertisement

Firstly, some general advice (as I am in your shoes right now). What I have found is there isn't any "direct" approach. You won't be learning "how to get into game development" but instead "learning a component of game development".