🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Any advice on making a portfolio?

Started by
3 comments, last by frob 10 years, 1 month ago

Hello GameDev.net.

I'm a recent grad from university in game design and I'm wondering about making an impressive portfolio to show to potential employers. I'm not requiring that the industry be game development specifically, but something in the fields of software design/engineering, modelling and simulation or general programming. I'm currently also studying for my GREs and applying to grad school, so I'm hoping for a decent paying job that will afford me the time to get the classes for that done (if that helps to paint a better picture for what I'm aiming at.)

I'm hoping to make an online portfolio that can display games I generate in Unity3D, videos of games that might have controllers other than keyboard and mouse (i.e. I have and develop for the Oculus Rift), and my resume, though I will probably just use my LinkedIn page in lieu of that.

So, I'm wondering if anyone here would have advice on good online services would allow me to make a good portfolio, and what I should specifically include (if I missed something in the above comments).

Advertisement