🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What does this job ad mean by "C/C++"?

Started by
8 comments, last by Pink Horror 10 years, 1 month ago

I'm a professional in general software and finding my passion in a future career with Nintendo, God-willing with some fairy dust included. While planning ahead with knowing what tools they use, I came across a job ad from Nintendo that reads "C/C++ with low level experience."

Does that mean..

a) HR doesn't understand the differences between the two languages, but apparently got the requirements from a supervisor?

b) The company wants to see both C and C++ products from you.

c) The company focuses on C++ but wants the programmer to have knowledge of C as well?

d) It's to maintain old, reusable C code because of the history of the company, while using 'what makes C++, C++' in other areas.

e) All above

I mean, I have a long way to go, although I understand both languages completely, hense why I think saying "C/C++" is odd. But I'm wondering, portfolio-wise, if it's best to have ~5 notable products in C, and ~5 notable products in C++? And, jokingly, maybe 5 in "C+"?

Advertisement
It usually means their existing code is likely "C with Classes" style C++: classes, maybe some inheritance and virtual methods here and there, maybe one or two templates, but no smart pointers, no functional style, no other modern C++ features. In other words, using C++ constructs to write C-style code.

Which means you will be expected to deal with all of the headaches that comes with that.

Okay, thanks. I guess that's how I started out.

When I've applied for jobs that say C/C++, it means experience in either language counts.