🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How Is My Resume?

Started by
1 comment, last by ajm113 10 years, 2 months ago

I've been looking hard for a legit software engineer job. And I think I'm on the right track, but for the most part I've had no luck getting the job I want. For the most part it appears Arizona is deep into Java/.NET. I know how to write in Java and C#. I've been programming for 5 years of my life as a open source contributor and made one close source project I released for sale. I should mention I have a certificate in Object Oriented Programming. The company Stepfy, lets me use Java heavily to write web spiders to collect data. Stepfy, is a start up. So far the stock certificate is worthless, till the company starts going public in the next few months.

I'm hopping if I post my resume here I can get some better ideas how to write my resume and maybe how to job search. A lot of job agencies appear to be really iffy about my experience w/ out a bachelors in CS or 1 year of real experience. Any tips or ways to appear more attractive to employers?

[EDIT]

I doubt this is in the right area, since I meant more Software Engineering.

Check out my open source code projects/libraries! My Homepage You may learn something.
Advertisement

5 years of my life as a open source contributor and made one close source project I released for sale.

If you say so. You don't tell me that on paper.

Looking at that I see all filler, except for the "Stepfy" section. You have held exactly one job in your entire life, for less than one month, and provide no way to validate anything you have done.

That one job for one month as a junior programmer looks like you have set up a computer, and that's about it.

Show, don't tell.