🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Canadian

Started by
1 comment, last by SeanO'Brien 10 years, 2 months ago

I'm about to embark on an attempt to find permanent work in canada via a years working visa holiday. I've been working for just shy of 2 years as a programmer in Scotland and I've a good idea of what to expect (at times) when it comes to programming job interviews over here.

Usually a short phone call, followed by a test I do at home where if I pass or fail, they'll decide if I get a face to face interview.

I was wondering what if any canadian game devs / professional programmers could give me some insight into what I should expect when I start applying for programming jobs (games and more traditional programming) across the pond.

Advertisement

I'm a game programmer in Canada (I'm a Canadian citizen by birth though).

The interview process would be different at each company, but a phone interview followed by an in-person full-day/half-day interview are fairly normal (a take home test not as common, or at least I've never seen one at a Canadian studio).

Some fun facts about the Canadian industry:

-There are a lot of contract positions these days. This might work well since you are on a working holiday visa.

-Companies likely won't pay for your relocation unless they are filling a specialized position (i.e. domain expert, Technical director, or you have a ton of relevant experience). You will likely need to be commuting distance to the office when applying. You can always get lucky though I guess.