🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Moving away from the games industry

Started by
5 comments, last by emcconnell 10 years, 4 months ago

Hi,

I've been working for a games company for the past two years (programming) and I've recently applied for a new job in a software firm which does web development using java EE.

The reason I applied for the job was mainly because it was in my home country and that I've been finding it very difficult recently to live in a place where the culture is so different from my own.

I have an interview with this company next week but I don't if moving away from the games industry is the right decision, there are lot of pros and cons I can think of for moving and for staying, namely things like property prices are a lot cheaper, salary will most likely be higher but at the same time I almost feel like I am throwing in the towel with the games industry.

I was wondering if anyone here has had a similar experience? and how different a software firm is to a games company? (I know I probably have it quite easy not having to wear a suit and tie etc.)

Any advice?

Thanks.

Advertisement

I recommend you get a copy of the book "What Color Is Your Parachute?".

You will probably find multiple copies at your local library, as well as recent copies at book stores. It has been out for a long time so you can visit most used book stores and find a bunch of copies for cheap.

If you don't have time to read the whole thing, look for the section where the author discusses the flower diagram. Some editions it is in an appendix, other editions it is within the main content. You are looking for this part.