🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Moving within the industry

Started by
4 comments, last by ambershee 10 years, 5 months ago

Hello,

I have been a Game Designer for 3 years now and I am thinking of leaving the country to continue my carrier. But the main problem is that this was my first job and I was extremely lucky to have landed it without any experience in the field besides modding, thus my experience in the job field is 0. I don't even have a CV yet :) .So I have a couple of questions before I make any decisions. Any input would help.

1. I did not finish University. I started working during my 4th year and because I did not have time to keep my job and continue uni, I dropped out of uni. My domain was Control Systems Engineering so relatively unrelated to Game Development except the programming aspect. The question is how much will that bite me in the ass. How should i handle it in my CV?? I knew it was a risk but I decided it's better to continue with Game Design.

2. I work at a big mobile developer. I would like to look for a position in a AAA studio, mainly focused on pc/console games. While some of the games i've worked are AAA for mobile standard, I am unsure of how much my experience matters when transitioning to non mobile. Should I stick with mobile or do I have a decent shot at non-mobile?

3. Do I qualify as a Senior Designer? I have worked as both Level, Game and Lead Designer on various projects. Seniorship seems to vary depending on the company from what i've seen.

4. Do I need to make a portfolio or something similar, besides listing the games I have worked on and my role there?

5. Any tips on what to focus on when writing my CV?