🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Need Advice, Got a degree but which road next?

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 10 years, 6 months ago

Hi there, I'm Scott.

Not sure if my scenario is a bit of a strange one but here's my story so grab a drink, sit back and have a glance.

So I'm 23 years of age, I finished my Bachelor of arts degree in Game Design last year. I've always had a deep passion for games and in between some game playing hours as a child I would write stories and character backgrounds for games and design documents on how the mechanics would work. My friend alongside me would use his artistic skills to help bring the vision to life. Fun times.

So fast forward several years, I got to that age to finally go to university and decide upon my future career. I had moments where I considered another path but decided to follow my childhood dreams of working in the games industry, follow your passion as they say.

So as I went through university, I discovered that the degree was more directed to transforming us into capable 3D modellers for obtaining the artist jobs. Once the final year in my degree took place we did get to finally design a game, however the game was marked heavily on the artistic assets present and extremely little on anything else, this caused most people to focus little on design and come up with very pretty generic fps games.

I am still glad I did my degree but I've never had a huge passion for creating the artistic assets and always seen it as a means to an end for creating the vision of the game and after my degree and how certain parts of it were badly organized I felt a little lost and burnt out.