🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Experience without a degree

Started by
21 comments, last by SondreDrakensson 11 years, 4 months ago

This is my first post in Gamedev forums in a long time, I used to have an account a little over 10 years ago but since forgot the username etc... I would like to say it's great to see Gamedev is still alive and active and full of the same great content I used to see here. That being said, I have a tough question that I hope I can get some experienced knowledge and perspective around.

I have been developing web services and web applications for about 10 years now, and I do love coding for a living. Before actually landing a job in the industry I was coding only as a hobby, and hoping that I could some day trade in my retail job(s) for one in development. My first language was C++ simply because that's what was taught at my local high-school From there I toyed with VB, Java, C# and eventually ASP/PHP for web-pages. I feel I have a solid understanding of data structures, algorithms, software design/enterprise patterns and computer architecture. All of this I have attained with passion and seeking help from professionals in the field or related fields. I have taken a total of 5 college classes in my entire life, and while I've always considered going to college a huge benefit, I've never actually made the commitment to go.