🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

College Major Dilemma- Should I continue to major in Art or something else that have better job prospects

Started by
6 comments, last by frob 11 years, 5 months ago

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time if you are reading this. I am aware that Tom Sloper already has an article about what should college students major in if thinking of going into the video game industry. However, the reality of this economy is giving me more questions about college major relevancy and I am seeking your opinions on them as well as suggestions on what I should do. I appreciate it if you are reading this too Tom.

Ok, here it goes;

As of right now, I am a sophomore at Brooklyn College aspiring to be a games artist (and hopefully, a game designer or producer). Originally, I wanted to major in Multimedia Computing as a freshman because I thought that doing art and coding would be beneficial to get a job as a game designer and in the industry in general. Furthermore, I felt that learning the same skills that computer science students learn would lead me to better job prospects in case my plans for breaking in the industry fail miserably. Unfortunately, I found that the major requires lots of coding and I found out that I am so bad at that skill. I would not be hired at all if my back up plan were to happen. After seeking Tom’s advice as well as the advice of the forum members in this site I decided to pursue my real passion: art. Thus, I am majoring in studio art and it is still my major as of right now.

One day, I stumbled upon an internet article of the worse college majors and art is one of them. I looked more into this topic and after reading these following articles and one book:

www.forbes.com/sites/.../10/.../the-10-worst-college-majors