🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Poll of sorts

Started by
6 comments, last by pfresh85 22 years, 8 months ago
I posted this over at thedc.com to see what people over there think and I decided it''d be just as good to post it here and see what you guys think. So here is the copied and pasted message from there: "Hey. I''ve been here a few times before when I was a beginner (which I guess I still kind of am). You guys were a help back then so I thought I''d come back here now. I''m a sophmore in high school and I''m researching what colleges and such are better to go to. I mean which way is better to get a job as a programmer in the industry. I have the option of going to a regular college (like UT) and getting a degree in Computer Science or I can go to a place like Digipen or Full Sail (which is kind of my preference right now). So I want everyone''s opinion on what''s a better way to do it. Thanks for your response. " And there you go. I want everyone''s opinion here as well. What do you think?
Advertisement
Recent thread:
What do I study for Game Programming in College?

You''ll find a lot of viewpoints in that thread. There was another within the last 2 weeks too, so try searching on "college"/"education"/"university."
I checked that thread and it''s not what I''m asking it at all (well the original question kind of was related but the answer weren''t). I''m not asking what courses to take. I''m asking which is the better route: a dedicated school (Digipen) or just a regular university (like UT).