🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Unique opportunity, I need some advice.

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 12 years, 6 months ago
As the title says I could use some advise/opinions on quite an interesting opportunity that seemingly fell into my lap.

Just to give you some background about myself, I'm a recent college grad with a BS in Comp. Sci. and interest in game development and computer graphics. I've been job hunting since July not necessarily for game design, just whatever I could get. However, today I was contacted by a 3rd party IT and application development company with a hefty game development opportunity. Needless to say the company has never worked with any clients that have requested a video game before so this would be an entirely new division for them. According to my contact I was the only applicant that had any game development experience on my resume that applied to their company and because of that I have been given the opportunity to lead this project and potentially build this new division from the ground up.

From the information I was given the project doesn't seem to be high budget and won't really require that much art direction. I was also informed that my only responsibility would be to gather a crack team of developers, tell him what I need to get the game done, and just develop it. To me this seems like the company is going to take care of all the business concerns.

The way I'm looking at this whole thing is a HUGE opportunity to break out into the industry, gain a ton of knowledge and experience, and potentially start something with this company.