🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I graduated with a BA in Psychology - is there a place for me in the industry?

Started by
2 comments, last by deus.ex.nova 12 years, 8 months ago
Hey Everyone,

I was wondering if any experts in this forum could help me. I just graduated last spring with a BA in Psychology, and I am currently working in a visual perception and cognition lab at the same university. For the past few weeks, I've been engulfed with thoughts about what I want to do as a career. I've always been into technology and the user experience, and consequently I've looked into careers in Human Factors and HCI (Human-Computer Interaction). Unfortunately a bell has yet to ring, "THIS IS WHAT I WANT TO DO FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE!" I've heard that there are some behavioral psychologists and HCI experts out there in the gaming industry, and I have considered going on one of those paths. Again though, is usability testing or UI design what I really want?