🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

which minor to take?

Started by
1 comment, last by deus.ex.nova 12 years, 7 months ago
Hey guys
i am currently studying computer engineering in hopes to be a game programmer and then a game designer (work up the ladder).
so i want to ask, which minor will help me more with becoming a game designer and contributing to the design team more.
I heard that a minor in creative writing is great but to be fair i know how to write good fiction without the need to actually learn it in classes.
I have been thinking about a minor in psychology ever sense i started reading Better Game Characters by Design: a Psychological Approach.
I also heard that a minor in japanese language is very helpful for working in a foreign title.
There are some computer graphics & animation courses in my college too.
So you see my mess. Any advice will be great
Thanks

Advertisement
Do not ask what subject or course might make a good impression on some hypothetical future employer. Rather, ask what subject or course interests you more. And if that doesn't help you decide, analyze your options and make a decision grid.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Hey guys
i am currently studying computer engineering in hopes to be a game programmer and then a game designer (work up the ladder).
so i want to ask, which minor will help me more with becoming a game designer and contributing to the design team more.
I heard that a minor in creative writing is great but to be fair i know how to write good fiction without the need to actually learn it in classes.
I have been thinking about a minor in psychology ever sense i started reading Better Game Characters by Design: a Psychological Approach.
I also heard that a minor in japanese language is very helpful for working in a foreign title.