🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Using game project for resume?

Started by
8 comments, last by alnite 12 years, 12 months ago
Hey I'm a recent grad who graduated with a low GPA of 2.30 from an average university. I have no previous IT job/intern experience. I know that to get a job I would have to make a couple of projects to show off to employers. Right now I'm thinking of making a huge game project using DirectX. Is this a good idea? Do you guys think that I can use a game project to get a non game related programming job?
Advertisement
Everything except the word "huge" makes good sense, IMHO.
Don't bite off more than you can chew.

One small, very fun, very well-polished demo is worth more than one huge, craptacular demo. Three small, highly polished demos will infinitely trump one huge, craptacular demo.

In other words, do it small, do it right. Nobody will be impressed by your "huge" game project if you utterly fail to complete it, but smaller, more attainable projects have a much better chance of leading you down a road of success. Moreover, nobody will play your "huge" game if they are thinking about offering you a job; when employers look for candidates, especially entry-level ones, they need to see something they can make a snap decision on in a few minutes. If your game is so big it takes hours or days to see all of it, 99% of the employers out there will never know the difference.

So make something small, something you can show in a few minutes or less, and make it really kick ass. Then do it again.

Also, I'm moving this to the Breaking In forum as it isn't really programming related.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

1. I'm thinking of making a huge game project using DirectX. Is this a good idea?