🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Location Location Location workaround?

Started by
17 comments, last by Tom Sloper 12 years, 12 months ago
So I just read Tsloper's FAQ #27 "Barrier Busting Checklist".

I feel like most of them I can handle. I often network, I have a college degree, I've been developing my resume, etc.

The one problem for me would be #2. I currently have a job in an online advertising company in nowheresville. I'm about an eight hour drive from the nearest development studio.

I really want to just quit and move to a hotbed of video game job opportunities, but I don't want to lose my current job unless I have one lined up. I really don't want to drive my wife out to Maryland only to not have a job (or have a non-game oriented one).

My hope was to send out applications, fly to interviews, and use some of my savings to move wherever I needed to once I had a job. But then I read the "Barrier Busting Checklist".

So here's my question(s):
1. Is it wrong (and even stupid) to use a friends residence (who lives in a hotbed) on my resume? Even though I don't technically live there, I could be there when necessary.

2. This probably deserves a different post, but when putting together a portfolio, which is better for a junior programmer to do?
  • Create 3 different complete games using DirectX 10, XNA, and Unity3D
  • Create 3 different tech demos showing deeper knowledge of the theory
I appreciate any reasonable answers.

Thank you.
Advertisement
1. Yes. It's wrong. And if you get found out, you'll see that it was also stupid. You can't work around the Location X3 Rule.
2. Classic Two-Choices Question. Read FAQ 52.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

1. Yes. It's wrong. And if you get found out, you'll see that it was also stupid. You can't work around the Location X3 Rule.