🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What to do?

Started by
6 comments, last by broady 12 years, 11 months ago
Hello,
my life in short:
- i am 28
- i have Master’s Degree in Computer Science and Control Systems Engineering
- i work from 2 years in a SW house not involved in Game dev

I am a c++/c# developer and dba. I have good network experience too. Can i upload my resume so you can have a quick idea? My sw house is now too small for me and i feel there is no much left to learn.

I'd like to join game dev world.

Question 1: when i apply should i apply for junio/entry lvl positions? I'd say yes since my "game dev" expereince is near to zero. On the other side you dont feel so junior after 2 year of professional life.

Question 2: I dont enjoy so much beeing a coder 24h/24h, might be a good idea to get some 1/year course about 3d design (maya, 3DS etc..) to expand my views?( I like jobs where you have to deal with more stuffs, problem solving and troubleshooting)

My portfolio is quite small: my main project is a c++/OpenGL (with a lot of math) application to animate in real time 2d images (say puppets). It's quite impressive. I really need to make a short presentation/demo movie of it.
Now since i work it's not so easy to find time to develop other projects so

Question 3: a course (say a 6 months/1 year) is a valid way add good stuff to the portfolio.

Thanks GD people
Advertisement
Broady,
1. Yes, since your 2 years of professional life were not spent in games.