🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

International Internships ?

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 13 years ago
Hello everyone,

I am a student from India currently in my 3rd year of college and studying Information and Technology. I have a keen interest in game programming and so study stuff like 3D Graphics Rendering, AI, Physics in Games etc. on my own.

My aim is to get into one of the AAA Game companies as a Game Programmer Intern next year. (EA Games in particular)

My question is do these companies actually higher international students and also get them visas and all ? and if they do what should I do or how can I prove them my worth that they should hire me ?

The placement cell and the internship cell in my college is pathetic. So I have to do this myself my college can't help me in anyway possible. So please give my your advice on how can I achieve my aim.

Thank you.
Advertisement
Unfortunately, you're in a tough spot here. There are far more people trying to get into the industry than the industry can actually support right now, so employers generally don't go out of their way to make it easy to do things like internships. It's a "buyer's market" if you will - the employers have the upper hand, and can afford to be lazy about finding people for internships and entry level positions. So I doubt you'll find many programs that will stretch to help you with visa issues and so on. In fact, from my recent experience, even senior-level positions tend to require that you've sorted out all the legalities of working abroad prior to even applying. So, unfortunately, you'll have to do some serious legwork to make this happen.