🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Programming Candidate - Question of Professionalism

Started by
4 comments, last by biyangdo 13 years, 7 months ago
Hi there,

I can scarcely believe it, but I think I'm about to land my first job in the industry.

Last Tuesday, in response to one of my employment inquiries, I was issued a programming test with a one-week deadline. I turned it in this morning and about an hour later received a very positive response. This company would like me to come in for an interview and a written test --- and they want me to talk through my solution on the test, because, as it is implied, they are perhaps a little suspicious that I might have cheated. How flattering! Really, I couldn't blame them; I have an English degree, no experience in a related industry, and I first opened a C++ book only four months ago!

However, another aspect of this situation presents a bit of an ethical problem for me.

For a couple of different reasons, this particular company would not be my first choice (admittedly, in my position, it's astounding to think I might HAVE a choice). I've got at least one other good lead right now, and it seems that in pursuing those jobs it would behoove me to show them my solution to this test. Afterall, it is definitely a much cleaner, clearer, and more efficient bit of code than what I originally sent around as a demo.

Would it be considered unprofessional for me to share this work with other prospective employers? What about asking permission from the first company? Or would that just be weird?

Thanks for your guidance.
Advertisement
Quote: Original post by biyangdo