🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Where do i start?

Started by
6 comments, last by yaustar 13 years, 8 months ago
Hi all

As you can imagine i want to get into game design.
My plans are to Learn as much as i can , Do a games design course at college ,Take part in projects ,try to get a work placement in a games company and get Bsc(hons) in Computer games design.

I am an absolute beginner and will take all the advice and help you guys can throw at me and would really be thankful if someone could teach me some things over time and point me in the right direction.

I have no idea what beginner programs to use either. I just have a little experience in graphic design using GIMP.

So there it is!

Please get back to me asap annd thanks :)

-Xcal

Advertisement
Quote: and get Bsc(hons) in Computer games design.

I recommend against that.

Quote: I am an absolute beginner and will take all the advice and help you guys can throw at me and would really be thankful if someone could teach me some things over time and point me in the right direction.

Sloperama's FAQ should help in that respect. The nutshell version is make games. Any kind of games. Card, board, dice, etc. And learn some production skills as well such as level editing, scripting, programming, modelling, animation, scripting.

Steven Yau
[Blog] [Portfolio]

Thanks ,Why do you reccomend against the Bsc ?
-Xcal
Unless you are going into programming, I'll personal recommend against going to college at all. And you can't go from school to a game designer. It takes years to achieve this level and everyone starts at the production level (programming, modeling, level design, etc).
You have to go to college. Scroll up and click the tiny blue "View Forum FAQ" link. Read FAQ 3 especially.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com