🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game Design Degrees

Started by
4 comments, last by BGrizzMayne 13 years, 8 months ago
I read the sticky about the designer wanting to break into the industry, but I feel that it didn't answer my own question regarding it. I am currently a Freshman in College in Vermont attending Champlain College and majoring in Game Design. However, I am beginning to have mixed feelings about it, especially as I read more and more about the lack of credibility for this type of degree. I am also planning to move back to my home state, Washington, and I'm looking at other choices there.

What would be a good option to major in if I want to enter the industry as a Game Designer? I know that I will probably have to do 1-2 years as a QA for a company before I even begin working on a project (though I plan to make games along the way, and I'm currently in the process of working on one for a competition, and another small one in my spare time), and that it is VERY unlikely I'll be thrust into the role of a designer from day one, but I was curious as to what major would benefit me in becoming one.

I am set on the idea that I want to become a lead designer, and not a level designer or a writer, and I feel that with the right studies, I will no doubt be qualified for the role.

I have looked at schools in Washington, but I can only really see Digipen as a viable option for me. However, it contains the same majors that I fear will not be beneficial in the work place.

So, after my really repetitive post, I would like to sum it up by asking what I should major in to become a game designer, and if a school like Digipen is a good idea, or if I should go to a more traditional school?
Advertisement