🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Programming Portfolio From Scratch

Started by
6 comments, last by Obscure 13 years, 9 months ago
I graduated this past May with a degree in computer science. I'm currently employed, but would like to transition into the gaming industry. Thus, it's time for me to start building a portfolio.

My portfolio right now has nada, zip, zilch. I haven't had the opportunity to work on any game-related projects. I also don't know exactly what is expected of a programming portfolio.

I checked this forum's FAQ first but didn't see any specific articles about programming portfolios. Anyone got a good link that talks about what developers are looking for from a portfolio, tips to building one, etc.?

Aside from that, I have some specific questions:

1. I've seen gameplay videos suggested for portfolios. Does this apply for programmers too? Don't they want to see examples of your coding ability? I feel like a gameplay video tells more about the project than what you, specifically, accomplished--unless you coded the entire thing without a team.

2. Since code is so proprietary, is the only way to get some "code" into my portfolio to take on a small-scale solo project? (Or should I not worry about putting code itself into my portfolio at all?)
Advertisement
For those interested, I found the following article very informative:

http://www.gamecareerguide.com/features/655/how_to_make_a_game_programming_.php

But it seems like I'm expected to throw together a bunch of small, one-person projects for this. I have to admit I'm really turned off by the idea. I would much rather work in a team on large-scale projects. Hence my question about proprietary code.

I don't feel like making Super Mario or Frogger clones... but whatever.