🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Critique Me?

Started by
1 comment, last by way2lazy2care 13 years, 9 months ago
Prepost Warning: Programmer/Game-Programmer Semi-Expert, GameDev.net Noob, Job Holding Noob

I am trying to break into the games industry. I haven't put out "hundreds" of resumes. Closer to 80 or so, mostly in the last three months since I graduated from DigiPen. At this point, I need a job very badly, and would work in any programming or IT job anywhere in the US. I would like to get your opinions on my submission materials and some ways I can improve them. I'm posting the txt version of my resume (the general one, not specific to a given job) and a link to my current (out of date) portfolio. I've already got plans to update the portfolio, but I would appreciate any feedback you have on it anyway. And before you ask, yes, I will be taking down the film class videos.

Resume:
Quote: Dwight House
Generalist Programmer (Game/3D/Web Experience)

[ADDRESS HIDDEN]
Haughton, LA 71037
[PHONE HIDDEN]
dwighthouse@gmail.com
dwightdesign.com

Education
------------------------------------------------
Master of Science in Computer Science
* Graduated: July 2010
* School: DigiPen Institute of Technology
* Thesis: Non-Photorealistic Real-Time Edge Rendering using Non-Duplicate Parallel Detection and Capping

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
* Graduated: May 2007
* School: Louisiana State University in Shreveport
* Minor: Fine Arts

Skills
Languages
* C/C++
* HTML/CSS
* &#106avascript
* Working Knowledge
- - C#
- - Java
- - Perl

GPU
* OpenGL/GLSL
* OpenCL

Development
* Visual Studio
* XCode
* SVN

Software
* Wordpress
* Photoshop Elements
* Word, Pages
* Powerpoint, Keynote
* Windows XP, Mac OS X
* Working Knowledge
- - 3DStudio Max, Blender

Game/3D Experience
Super Non-Infringement Bros.