🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Compilers???

Started by
7 comments, last by AreaOne 22 years, 10 months ago
Hey everyone...I am new to the forums and programming. I was hoping you guys could direct me to a good free C++ compiler. I already have Visual C++ 6.0 standard edition but I am looking for something else to learn programming in. Can anyone link me to a good compiler.....or one that you guys can recommend? Thanks alot.....
Advertisement
Visual C++ is better than any free compiler you''re going to find. Why do you want a different one if you already have VC++ anyway?
Forgive me for asking what may be obvious questions, I am just beginning here so this is all sort of new to me!....

Can I use VC++ 6 for most anything? Like Direct3D and stuff? If so then maybe I should just stick to it and learn using it right?
Yes, you most certainly can!
If you have it, stick to it.

~~~~~~~~~~
Martee
ReactOS - an Open-source operating system compatible with Windows NT apps and drivers
Since Visual C++ 6 is what all professional windows coders are using ... you should use it to compile windows and directx samples and learn the ropes.

You should also download Borland''s free c++ compiler to do general purpose c++ stuff ... because it is more standard compliant, has a better C++ Standard library ... and generates more usefull C++ error messages ....

So good luck.

Keith McAfee
Yes, you can most definately use DirectX in VC++. And VC++ will probably work better with DirectX than any free compiler. Visual C++ is what most professionals use and it has one of the best IDEs than any compiler out there. You should definately stick with it and learn all about it.