🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Prospective QA job: Any tips?

Started by
4 comments, last by Orymus 13 years, 10 months ago
High there folks,

I am applying for my first quality assurance testing role at a studio in england. Since I've got no previous work experience in the games industry, I'm wondering if there's any tips anyone could give me which would help me show my passion for games and my ability to work within the company.

If you can give any ideas that you feel are relevant it would be really appreciated.

Cheers,
Benni
Advertisement
Read up on the company and play their games. Show them that you don't just want to work for "a studio" -- you want to work for them... Whether that's true or not.
Make sure you have answers for the following questions:
Have you ever worked as part of a team?
How did you find working in a team?
Has there anybody you have ever worked with and not got along with?
What did you do in this situation?
What is your opinion on repetative tasks?
Have you ever worked to deadlines?
Why do you want to work for us?
What do you like about our company?
Why does working in Testing/QA interest you?

Across these questions you will need to get across that you:
Have a passion for games
Can work in a structured team
You have all of the qualities the job ad asks for (look specifically for key words like motivated, self-starter,teamwork, communication, etc)
You will fit in with the company (look on the company website - see if they have certain "Missions" and see if it mentions general office atmosphere)
You're reliable
You accept that repetitive tasks are part of every job
You are generally a nice/friendly person
You are interested in the job role