🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Game Design school or second degree?

Started by
4 comments, last by Spandy87 13 years, 11 months ago
So here is my situation. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in philosophy. It doesn't directly apply to game design (although its a malleable discipline, I'm sure I could make it apply). So far I have two options in front of me to get me into game design.

Option One: 2 year diploma at an institute of technology (BCIT), and then 2 year game design program at that same university for a degree. So another 4 years in total.

Option Two: 1 year intensive training at a specific film school that has a game design program. This results in a diploma and an extensive portfolio out the gate.

Option one is less expensive, since it is drawn out over a longer period of time, and there is co-op available so I could pay my way. It is also done in chunks of four months, similar to my first degree.

Option two is a full year intensive training program that goes all twelve months. The downside is that it costs 32 THOUSAND dollars. I could find a way to manage it since it doesn't start until next October and that would allow me some time to make that money, but I don't even have a job at all right now.

Which direction should I go for the best future career results?

My goal is to be part of the design process for some of the bigger developing companies.
Advertisement
Please read section 3 of the Forum FAQ. The link is just above your post.
Quote: Original post by frob
Please read section 3 of the Forum FAQ. The link is just above your post.

Seconded.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

I appreciate the responses, thanks!