🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Programmer: Switching industries from govt to gaming

Started by
6 comments, last by theboringone 14 years ago
I'm a software engineer working for the US military. I'm a solid C++ developer with 5 years experience and very keen design/development/debugging skills. I've got some great experience and awards on my resume (along with a B.S. in Computer Engineering from Virginia Tech).

I'm looking to move into the gaming industry. However, after a first round of applying for gameplay engineer jobs, I got no bites whatsoever.

My question for anyone in the industry is: what do I need to do to be taken seriously by gaming companies? I have a great development background that I'm sure would translate very well to gaming, but my resume seems to be getting passed over entirely.

I've started trying to put together some sample games in my spare time. I did a basic Geometry Wars clone from scratch in XNA with a friend, and now we're working on some basic tower defense games for Android.

What other things can I be doing to be considered for gameplay engineer jobs?

Thanks in advance
Advertisement
It sounds like you're quite well set up.

It depends on which position's you are applying to though. Maybe you're senior in your current role, but might not be seen as such in the games industry and therefore may need to lower the level you are aiming at.

If you're applying to entry level roles then keep going. It's not easy to find work at the moment. Just keep working on game demos to show you can transfer your knowledge to games development just fine.

Maybe your CV/Resume needs to be targeted more towards the games industry also. Attempt to highlight tasks performed in your previous jobs that could be used in games. Most computer science topics do transfer.

[OFF TOPIC]