🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

A question for everyone in the industry

Started by
6 comments, last by Obscure 14 years, 1 month ago
Im currently a business owner of a professional tattoo studio. I originally got into tattooing to pay for college, but life does not always work out the way you want it to. Id like to fulfill my original dream and get into the game design. I have no college background, but a pretty strong sense of art, form and lighting. I did a search on blizzard to get a feel for what is required of concept and 2d artists.

What im getting at here, is what are the odds of landing a job working for a major company like blizzard without a degree? And what knowledge of programs is generally expected for a 2D Artist? What kind of elements should i showcase in a portfolio for this type of job? This is not something i plan on jumping into right away. Im trying to collect some information so when the time comes i can do it properly. Any resources that have helped you, or information would be greatly appreciated.
Advertisement
From everything I've read noone is hiring without a degree of some sort.
"It's like naming him Asskicker Monstertrucktits O'Ninja" -Khaiy

gbf, VIEW FORUM F.A.Q. (link above).

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

For a concept artist, I would say a degree isn't that important. It helps, but isn't really required.

If you want to get a job at a studio like Blizzard, go to conceptart.org. That is your competition. Draw as well or better than the best people on that forum, and you'll be fine. Good luck!
Will Miller | Game Designer | Big Huge Games
Quote: Original post by mrchrismnh
From everything I've read noone is hiring without a degree of some sort.